All dressed up refusing to go.

2 11 2010

Hosea 10:12 “Sow with a view to righteousness, Reap in accordance with kindness; Break up your fallow ground, For it is time to seek the LORD Until He comes to rain righteousness on you. (NASB)”

It seems that I am always in the shower when I have these mind owning thoughts, this morning’s shower was one of these showers (I’m sure there is an over-spiritualized correlation with getting clean and then God guiding you, but I’m going to ignore it for now).  I was in the process of drying off and figuring out what I was going to wear for church.  As is always, my first step is to figure out what my wife is going to wear.  Not because I want to match her, but because if she dresses really nice I don’t want to be dressed like a bum sitting next to her.

So as I thought about Marla’s attire for church my thoughts segued to the Church’s attire.  Correlation: Marla is my bride the Church is Christ’s.  And I thought about how it would really get to me if Marla dressed rather nicely but then refused to let me take her out. 

And then the owning began: how often do we dress up the Church for “church” but refuse to let God take us off the church property. 

Let that thought sit with you for a moment…

This is what we do when we ignore the prompting of the spirit to do something more, to sacrifice, to go with out, or replace God’s agenda with our own. 

We can never sow righteousness for God if we aren’t in the field God has for us to plow, plant, and water. 

It is time we get off our proverbial pew with the intent of going into our proverbial field.

*NOTE TO READER: the church house is like the farm-house and the field is…well… the field.  Yes there are household responsibilities but the field still needs tending. 

Hosea writes to a prideful, arrogant, and stubborn Israel when he scribes Hosea 10:12. 

If ALL we do is dress up church we are no better or useful than a stubborn Israel.

WE WERE MEANT FOR SO MUCH MORE! (thank you Switchfoot!)

What do you think?

Would you consider the church-house the field?

What are some ways you’ve seen churches effectively work in the field together?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

