Everlasting Encouragement

20 05 2010

While working on my last post, I got a phone call telling me that a person very dear to me had passed away.  Because I’m making this blog public immediately after finding out, I will not be naming the person.   To gather this kind of information on a blog is a horrible way to find out.

However, if for nothing other than my benefit, I feel it worth while to share the lessons I have learned from this wonderful person. 

The first is honesty.  At times it could be described as brutal, but there was never a wanting of honest in our relationship.  They were always willing to shoot straight with me, never vying for position or manipulation. 

Transparency, this person was as transparent as you could get.  Really, if they were any more transparent and they would make Larry Bird look tan.  If they felt bad I knew, if they were struggling with an issue, I knew.  If they had a victory and joy, I knew. 

Authenticity, while this may seem synonymous with transparency I promise you it’s not.  You can be transparent as another person.  But I knew when we parted ways after a get together or meeting, this person was going to be the same person at home as I just perceived them to be. 

Selfless, I saw this person struggle many times, and when given the opportunity to lighten their load they never accepted.  They were bent on serving God no matter the cost, no matter the pain, no matter the sacrifice; and they did this week after week after week.

Encouragement, all the others are equally important, but for me personally this is what I appreciated most from this person.  It didn’t matter what was going on, no matter how up-beat or down-trodden I may have seemed this person was always one of my biggest cheer leaders!  Constantly pouring out their belief in my leadership and ability.  Over and over again they would say, “I know God has great things in store for you and Marla.”  Even after we knew we were moving away he would say,  “I can’t wait to see what He does, I only wish I could see it in person.”  The affirmation I received from this person will be enough to last me for my life time!

And now, as I rejoice in how God has used this person, I imagine that if we all have our own “cloud of witnesses” that they will be in mine so that they will get to see first hand how God uses Marla and me.  I am thankful that God blessed me with this person’s friendship and the everlasting encouragement and example of what is to be a Godly person.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

