Personal but not Private…

31 03 2010

Ps. 147: 8-12 Who covers the heavens with clouds, Who provides rain for the earth, Who makes grass to grow on the mountains.  He gives to the beast its food, And to the young ravens which cry.  He does not delight in the strength of the horse; He does not take pleasure in the legs of a man.  The LORD favors those who fear Him, Those who wait for His lovingkindness.  Praise the LORD, O Jerusalem! Praise your God, O Zion! (NASB)

I love podcasts!  In fact I would wear that if it were a t-shirt.  I have maybe a total of 5 albums on my iPod but I have close to 5 gbs of podcasts.  One of the podcast I subscribe to is the Catalyst podcast.  As I was listening to an interview with Matt Chandler of the Village Church he said this, “Our spiritual lives were never meant to be lived alone.  They are personal, but not private.”  Even as I write that statement, rehashing it for the 15 time, I feel the weight of its truth.

It was the cherry on top of what God has been challenging me with.  As I read through Psalms 146 to 150 something in 147 made me stop for a moment.  Verses 8 to 12 made me think: God does not need me or anybody else to accomplish His goal.  He is not impressed, stop trying to impress.  As I read on into Psalm 148, being encouraged by the psalmist to praise God, I have this thought: In order to truly praise God, you must first humble yourself.  This was only the bagillionth time I had read something or thought about humility that morning.  I realized God was telling me don’t be proud.  I can’t use you if you’re proud, I’m not impressed with you, because it is Me who is doing it through you, and if you’re really going to praise me you must first humble yourself. 

My pride has gotten the best of me more that I would care to admit.  Searching my heart I realized it got me in ways that I didn’t even realize it had.  And while this is personal, it is not private.  Most of you who read my blog know me or have known me personally so I ask you to pray for me in this.  It’s not that I have devised plans and schemed my way to attain some level of prominence or that I think I am more important than I am, it’s not that at all.  The reality is, there is a sense of pride and selfishness in us all and it is my desire to ride me of myself because I can’t praise God with pride in my life. 

Like Robert Robinson’s song Come, Thou Fount reads:

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.”

This is a personal struggle, but it is not a private one.  Don’t let your pride get in the way of you praising God, none of us are that impressive anyway.

How often do you share what you would consider “private” issues with other people?

Why are we so hesitant to share our sins, struggles, and failures with others?

Have any of you gotten over this inability to be transparent?  If so, how?

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 03 2010
EZE

I am very ready to check out of anything that requires me to examine my struggles or difficulties. Pride is a very tricky thing to deal with. I know in my weakness is Gods strength, but admiting I’m wro, wro, wron, wrong or that I dont know what to do is not a natural act in my make-up. Its the biggest pill I have to swallow most days. One time someone told me that “its not about being right but being righteous” Ouch. still stings sometimes. Look at that I just shared my personal but not private issues. P’wnd. Love rocks and love ponds way to put them together like PB&J

2 04 2010
Wendell

I know of your love for God an your love of history. Please check out the first prayer in Samuel Johnson’s Prayers and Meditations.

Leave a Reply

