God’s typically non-typical fashion

24 03 2010

Exodus 13:21,22 The LORD was going before them in a pillar of cloud by day to lead them on the way, and in a pillar of fire by night to give them light, that they might travel by day and by night.  He did not take away the pillar of cloud by day, nor the pillar of fire by night, from before the people. (NASB)

For those of you who don’t know by now, Marla and I believe that God is leading us to Korea for our next stage in life.  We’re not going in the typical BBF missionary way, and while technically we will be considered missionaries, I don’t feel that way at all. In fact the only reason I say “yes” when people ask me if I’m going to be a missionary is it seems easier than trying explain to them what exactly we’ll be doing  as well as working around their definition of a missionary. 

I tell you all this not so that you can celebrate us, but so that you can celebrate God and give Him the glory.  To be completely transparent, I am scared out of my mind!  I don’t know what all needs to be done, we’re still working in our current jobs (at least till March 26th for me), and all our questions are still not answered (like where am I going to work for 2 months before we leave so we can pay bills?).  BUT I believe God is in this.  I believe I’m following His desire for Marla and I.  We have seen obstacle after obstacle removed.  We have experienced grace and mercy in key situations, and we have felt His comforting peace cover us multiple times.  I believe this is God’s desire. 

If you’re thinking it sounds like I’m trying to convince myself, I’m not.  I’m reminding myself.  For me, I would love the pillar of cloud and the pillar of fire to guide me.  I’d love to know exactly where to go and when to go.  But as I think about the pillars I have to chuckle to myself.  How common is it to see a pillar of a cloud just cruising along the dessert with a few million Israelites behind it?  Or even more, how about a pillar of fire? 

Since before we were born God has a design, desire, and destination for each of us (Eph. 2:10).  We just have to be willing to follow Him in what ever non-typical way He chooses to lead us; which is typically what He does.  However, in these times we can bank on a couple of constants: He will never leave us, and He will always go out before us!  “He did not take away the pillar of cloud by day, nor the pillar of fire by night, from before the people.” (v.22)

Even in all of this, the children of Israel lost hope.  They saw the pillars!  They knew the destination, they had the guide, they had the manna, and they had the water; yet they still doubted!  I’m not convincing myself, I’m reminding myself.  I know this is God’s plan for us, I remind myself because I don’t want to lose sight of what God is doing!  He is my hope!

Has there been a time in your life that God did something big to prove to you it was His desire for you?  What was it?

What was the weirdest thing that God has used to communicate to you His desire?

Why is it hard for us to follow the pillars?

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 03 2010
EZE

If we had pillars of clouds and fire it would be to easy, its would be like playing Golden Eye with Gameshark and all the cheat codes on.(yeah its the only way i beat that game) Its the calling to go some where or do something amazing I could be a peace with its when God says be still that I start getting antzy and anxious. How cool would it be to look outside at night and see millions of pillars of fire for each individual.

27 03 2010
Mason Stanley

Eric, sweet game shark reference… did you ever see the button codes for that game?! CRAZY! But either way, the Israelites moved at the pace of the pillars not their own. If the pillar was still, they had to be still. The whole concept is that God moves as he moves and when he moves, we don’t determine that, we just have to be obedient 😉

Leave a Reply

