Leadership: Half the battle…

19 03 2010

Proverbs 3:5,6  Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. (ESV)

Incase you missed this wonderful piece of culture; at the end of every G.I. Joe cartoon they gave a PSA (public service announcement), you know like don’t play in the street, don’t do drugs, or don’t play on a lightly frozen pond, or… you get the point.  At the end of every PSA they would say, “And now you know, and knowing is half the battle.”

As I’ve “grown-up” I’ve realized just how true this is.  Recently I have felt a stream of pride slip in.  Not a lot at first, just a small stream, enough to enhance my thirst for better.  Do you know this stream I’m talking about?  The problem with this is I let it go un-checked and it continued to bend and twist its way deeper into my heart.  To the point that I had lost sight of why I was dreaming dreams and seeing visions of what could be.

I have a desire to eventually start a business.  I don’t want to be known as a leader guru or some sort of systems and program expert.  I want to be known as a friend to ministers.  I want to minister to pastors, missionaries, and leaders.  Because I have this desire and pull on my heart my mind has been racing on the best way to accomplish my goal.  But with this stream of pride lately all I saw was bigger, better, and more.  Then in the midst of this whole process I felt a tug on my heart, it was God asking me, “Mason, why are you doing all of this?”  At these moments you have to stop and ask your self “why is God asking me what I’m doing, doesn’t he already know?”  Truth be told, He did know and He also knew that I had forgotten. 

As a leader, whether you are a teacher, manager, trainer, peer, boss, or pastor, we must be careful not to let our pride and self ambition sneak in.  It is wise for us to constantly be asking ourselves why we are doing what ever it is we are doing.  If you are doing for your own selfishness people will soon realize this and know your desire is not for the team; at which point they will distance themselves from you or seek their own selfishness.  However, if you are doing for the team, they will see your sacrifice and be inclined to sacrifice as well. 

Most importantly are you doing what God has for you to do?  Are your big dreams your dreams or God’s dreams?  Are your visions your visions or God’s visions?  If you constantly check your motives as a leader and as a christian making sure they line up with God’s you can never go wrong.  He will always let you know what you’re supposed to do, and that is half the battle! 

Why do you think it is hard to constanly check personal motives?

Who was your favorite G.I. Joe?

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 03 2010
EZE

Snake Eyes was my favorite GI Joe …until hasbro came out with the most epic cross-over action figure of the 80’s, Sgt. Slaughter. Yes the pro wrestler turned GI Joe with his 6×6 tank was a key center piece in both GI Joes and WWF collections. Oh snap I just went there 😉

21 03 2010
Mason Stanley

EZE, thats awesome bro! I loved the G. I. Joe movie cross over with Sgt. Slaughter. My favorite was always shipwreck, his smart mouth and awesome parrot always made my day!

21 03 2010
Jordie

Why do you think it is hard to constantly check personal motives?
I think it’s difficult due to the fact that we don’t wanna check ourselves. We get so caught up in what we’re doing, sometimes we’re even doing it for God, but we forget why. We think we’re doing it for God, but instead we’re just doing it to please ourselves, and make ourselves feel better. It’s also because the switch between selflessness to selfishness is so sudden. One second you’re preaching the word of God to change lives, the next you’re preaching to impress, with salvation of others narrow and tucked away. I have problems with it. I’ll go help someone, I’ll give to missions, I’ll read my bible. But I do it to feel good. Not to glorify God. I think “Because I gave to missions, I’m now a better person.” or “Look how Christian I am. I just reached lvl78”. It’s hard to step back and realize it because we get so caught up in everything we do, and in everyday life. Just like Francis Chan says, sometimes we just need to take a step back, and look at our lives outside of the chaos we live in.

21 03 2010
Mason Stanley

The problem is we are naturally prone to gravitate our lives towards our own desires of ease and comfort. So for us, by ourselves, to take a step back is for us to fight gravity with no propulsion. However, when we constanlty ask God to check our motives like the psalmist do, He reveals to us our motives, He is the jet pack to our gravitational pull of selfishness. 🙂 Great thought Jordie!

Leave a Reply

